Nancy’s Birthday Cake

24 Jan

Strawberry and Vanilla Cake

with Cream Cheese Frosting.

Four layers in all.

Pink flowers.

Lots and lots of pink flowers.

Voilà!  Nancy’s 60th Birthday Cake.

6 Responses to “Nancy’s Birthday Cake”

  1. Sarah January 24, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

    Ohhhhh myyyyyyy. And I mean that in a good way. What a gorgeous cake that sounds absolutely wonderful. Strawberry, vanilla and cream cheese frosting? You can’t go wrong at all with those flavors! i am so hungry now…

  2. thePatternedPlate January 28, 2012 at 7:03 am #

    Oh my goodness! What an impact!! That looks sensational and I am SO not showing this picture to my daughter or it will be demanded for next year’s party!! And she will talk of it until its made!

    Are the flowers made with Royal Icing or something similar?

    • heavycake January 28, 2012 at 7:21 am #

      Thank you! It was a lot of fun to make and actually not that difficult. I dyed 1/2 the icing the deepest shade of pink and then added more white frosting as I went to lighten it. The drop flowers are made from a crusting “buttercream”.

      1 cup vegetable shortening
      3 tablespoons butter
      2 lb powdered sugar – I ended up using less than this, just enough to bring the frosting together into a paste
      Milk – 1 tablespoon at a time until it is the desired consistency.
      1 teaspoon Vanilla extract – or lemon zest or almond extract – for flavor

      I piped the flowers using a drop flower tip and put them in the freezer, applying them individually with an off set spatula. It took some time, but was fairly forgiving, I was able to move the flowers around if I wasn’t happy with the placement and since it was going onto a buttercream surface, I didn’t have to use anything additional to adhere them to the cake.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ashley’s Baby Shower Cake « Heavy Cake - May 20, 2012

    […] Nancy’s daughter and Leo’s aunt Ashley is expecting a little one this summer.  This cake has a lot of firsts: my first stacked cake, my first time making fondant flowers, my first fondant covered Rice Krispie treat figures.  The cake is based loosely on the nursery bedding – a charming quilted pattern of owls and trees and flowers and polka dots. […]

  2. Angela’s Birthday Cake « Heavy Cake - June 24, 2012

    […] as Angie. I have been obsessed with ombre cakes for awhile now.   I played with the effect on Nancy’s cake, but I have been wanting to do a simple, modern version.  Angie’s birthday was the perfect […]

Leave a comment