Star Wars Cookies

17 Feb

I have a confession:  I haven’t seen any of the Star Wars movies.  I don’t really know why. We watched a lot of musicals in our house.  Is that an explanation or just another strange confession?

Couple that fact with the reality that this was my first large custom cookie order and I had a fair amount of anxiety about making them.   For the most part I am very pleased with the results, I know that cookies number 55 – 60 were better than the first few, but that is to be expected.  I learnt a lot.  Which is probably my favorite part of any custom order.

Williams-Sonoma Star Wars cookie cutters helped the process tremendously.  The cutters have little plungers that, when pushed down, leave an imprint on the cookies.  This imprint helped more for some characters – Boba Fett and CP3O – than others.

In the two days that I spent making these cookies I have come up with a weird story line in my head — my guess is that Darth Vader isn’t as much of a song and dance man in the films as he is in my version.  I will watch the movies.

10 Responses to “Star Wars Cookies”

  1. Georgia @ The Comfort of Cooking.com February 17, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    These are amazing, Shauna (and my husband agrees)! You are so talented and creative – I could never have the patience to decorate such beautiful, elaborate cookies. Thanks for sharing. You have a great blog!

    • heavycake February 17, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

      Thanks! They were certainly an undertaking but in the end they were a lot of fun. Thanks for stopping by, your comment led me to poke around The Comfort of Cooking – it is gorgeous, I look forward to reading more!

  2. Sarah February 17, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

    Incredible! They’re beautiful! You’re so talented. Thank you for sharing these 🙂

  3. Maria aka Jedi Andrews Mom February 20, 2012 at 11:44 am #

    They were amazing! The detail on the cookies wowed everyone at the party. My birthday boy was so happy! I loved that the cupcakes were so yummy too. The lemon was my favorite but I had no complaints about the others:). You are awesome and talented and I can’t thank you enough. You may need to borrow the movies because I feel like this might be a popular request!

  4. Elba Gonzalez February 20, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    Not only did they look beautiful tasted great.

  5. caymancake May 2, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    Excellent job Shauna!

    • heavycake May 2, 2012 at 9:55 am #

      Thanks! They were certainly a labour of love. Looking forward to the next order. So excited to read your updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Andrew’s Birthday Cupcakes « Heavy Cake - February 20, 2012

    […] Star Wars Cookies  were only half of the story.  They were, in fact, the garnish for 60 cupcakes, baked and frosted […]

  2. Caden’s Birthday Cake & Cupcakes « Heavy Cake - April 1, 2012

    […] Jedi Andrew’s little brother Caden turned 1 today!  Mod Monkey cake and cupcakes for everyone!  Happy Birthday Caden! […]

Leave a Reply

