Nana’s Potato Salad

16 May

I have been busy lately, leading me to neglect this little blog of mine.  Even though it has been a few weeks since our return to Philadelphia from Cayman, I still have a carry-on that I haven’t unpacked.  My little lady has been a whirlwind, coloring and singing and running and swinging and dancing through each day.  I can barely keep up with her.  She is reaching higher, talking faster and getting stronger every single minute.  I found a new tooth today – a big molar, it looked so grown up in her little mouth.  In and amongst all of these changes is another pretty big one:  I will be baking a few days a week at a wonderful little place around the corner from our home, literally 3 minutes from door to door.  I am nervous and excited and I start tomorrow.

But before tomorrow there is tonight and tonight we are having a summer supper.  Barbecue chicken, green beans with tomatoes and my Nana’s potato salad.  I really like all kinds of potato salad but this simple version, made up of not much more than a handful of ingredients, is my very favorite.

Image

Nana’s Potato Salad – Serves 2

4 small potatoes or 2 large, scrubbed, diced and boiled until just tender

2 boiled eggs, cooled peeled and sliced

1/4 cup of mayonnaise

Celery Salt

Black pepper

Scallions and Parsley

Combine the potatoes and scallions add 1/2 of the mayonnaise and toss, add more if desired.  Season with celery salt and pepper, toss well.  Lay the slices of eggs on top and garnish with additional scallions and parsley

Leave a Reply

