Martin’s Birthday Cake

13 Feb

Martin asked for an ice-cream cake.  An ice-cream cake!  I practically jumped for joy.  Can you think of anything more delicious?

I loved making this cake.  From the moment that Martin put in this request I started thinking about all of the birthdays that I have celebrated with him and all the ones that I hope we get to spend together.  All the plans that we have, all of the wonderful things we have already done.  A lot of love went into this cake.  I think you could taste it.

The cake is layers of chocolate and vanilla ice-cream sandwiching a decadent layer of hot fudge and chocolate cookie crumbles.

David Lebovitz‘s book, The Perfect Scoop, is the source for the recipes for the ice cream and the hot fudge.  I plan on writing a whole post on that chocolate ice-cream.  It is sinful.  If you have any interest in making ice-cream it is essential reading and quite possibly the only book on the subject that you will ever need.

It really isn’t a difficult thing to do and can be done way in advance of any party.  Layer the ice-cream and additions in a spring form pan, freezing each layer before adding the next.  After the cake has set up overnight, the whole thing is frosted in stabilized whipped cream – you can use frozen whipped topping.

I can’t wait to play with this a little. Just think of your favorite ice-cream sundae and it can be made in cake form.  I have a few ideas up my sleeve.

Happy Birthday Martin!  Thank you for the constant inspiration!

2 Responses to “Martin’s Birthday Cake”

  1. Michelle February 14, 2012 at 1:01 am #

    Looks so delicious! I wish I was still in Philly. Never thought I would say that.

    • heavycake February 25, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

      Haha! I wondered if you were missing Philly at all. You must be missing Trios! We were there today and thought about you guys. Hope you are well!

Leave a Reply

