Damn you, Norovirus!

11 Feb

It has been a few weeks.  The first few days I just wasn’t that inspired and decided to take a little break from blogging.  I made things I have made many times before. Stirring and seasoning on autopilot, devouring the meals right away, not pausing to take a picture or think about how I would describe them to you.  I roasted a chicken and we ate the leftovers a few different ways.  I made stock from the bones.  I made chocolate chip cookies, using the recipe on the back of the chocolate chips.  I started flipping though back issues of Food and Wine and turned down the corner on a few pages.   Armed with ideas and cravings I strapped Isabella in the stroller, walked to the market and stocked up on inspiration.  Oxtail, golden beets, butternut squash, Andouille sausage …

And then Isabella woke up sick, I’ll spare you the details, this is a food blog after all, but it wasn’t pretty. She recovered quickly, just in time for Martin’s parents to arrive to celebrate his birthday. Just in time, it turned out,  for me to come down with the violent stomach bug.    Two days later it was Martin and his father.  A few days after that, it was his mother’s turn.  Then the news reports started to surface, the norovirus, responsible for turning cruise ships around mid-journey, was running rampant in our area.  The local news reporters posted a check list of symptoms, we had every, single one.

Needless to say, there wasn’t a lot of inspired cooking going on in this house.  The majority of our meals were some combination of Gatorade, miso soup, Saltines and ginger ale.  Not really the things of enticing pictures or descriptive prose, their chief strengths being that they provided hydration and were mild.

For the most part, we are all better now. We even managed to enjoy a great meal of solid, savory food for Martin’s birthday.  And cake, of course.   The cake was great, like nothing I have ever made before.  A challenge and I think, a success.  I can’t wait to share it with you.  Tomorrow, I promise.

One Response to “Damn you, Norovirus!”

  1. thePatternedPlate February 11, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

    Oh man, that’s a hard blow! Pardon the pun 😦 Glad to hear you are all getting the better of it now. It’s a nasty, malicious virus.

    Happy Birthday to Martin…and looking forward to seeing the cake…that’ll cheer no end 😉

Leave a Reply

