Obey Giant Cake

19 Jan

The coolest kid in Philadelphia turned 10 yesterday.  When I asked him what kind of cake he wanted to celebrate entering double-digits, he responded, with out the slightest hesitation, “Obey Giant. I want an Obey Giant cake.”

A 10-year-old ordered my coolest cake to date.  I guess I shouldn’t be surprised, this kid knows more about the underground art scene than I do and is gifted with The Clash: London Calling on vinyl for his birthday, this kid is definitely cooler than I am.

So here is his birthday cake.  Based on Shepard Fairey’s Obey Giant print, the cake is chocolate and vanilla with malted chocolate buttercream and crushed malt balls.  The Obey Giant is made out of fondant.

2 Responses to “Obey Giant Cake”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Malted Chocolate Buttercream « Heavy Cake - January 19, 2012

    […] buttercream served as the filling and topping for the Obey Giant Cake post from earlier today.  My Mom has been marching around my mind lately, in addition to adoring […]

  2. Eilidh’s Birthday Cake « Heavy Cake - March 28, 2012

    […] cake was for one of my favorite friends.  The incredibly chic mom of the coolest kid in Philadelphia.  Lemon Ricotta Cake with Lemon Curd and Vanilla Buttercream.  The cake is based […]

Leave a Reply

