A Branch of Brussels Sprouts

3 Jan

I bought a branch of brussels sprouts at the market this weekend.  I couldn’t resist.  And now I am having a hard time coming to terms with the idea of cutting all of the little guys off the branch. I want to put the whole thing in water and admire it for just a little bit longer.  Isn’t it beautiful?But eat them, we must.  I normally sauté brussels sprouts with bacon, onions and tomatoes.  This week, I avoided the thick cut  bacon at the market, to force myself to come up with a couple of healthier dishes – it is the New Year, after all. So it looks like week one of 2012 is shaping up to be the week of the brussels sprout, a little different than the candy bonanza that marked the 2011 holiday season, but no less delicious, I promise.

Leave a Reply

