Happy Birthday Leo!

25 Oct

A few weeks ago my neighbor’s son, and one of Bella’s best friends, turned two.  I made his birthday cake.  It was my first attempt at a “custom” cake.  I have decorated cakes with buttercream flowers and messages of love and celebration but I had never been given a theme to play with and I had never really worked with fondant.  I am pleased with the results, it took a couple of days but the process was relaxing and satisfying.  Best of all everyone seemed to be delighted by the cake and really enjoyed it – which is the best part of making things like this.

The cake was three, fat layers of vanilla and chocolate marbled cake. Chocolate buttercream was sandwiched between the layers and the exterior was vanilla buttercream.  All of the lettering and decorations were made out of homemade marshmallow fondant.  I will gladly pass on recipes or techniques – writing them all out here would be a bit much.  Nothing was too difficult but the techniques are a little involved.


Making this cake was a kind of therapy for me.  I have recently been trying to figure out a way to get back into professional baking but it is proving difficult with the generally un-kind schedules that culinary professionals work.  Designing, making and delivering this cake provided me with a similar sense of satisfaction that creating, testing and executing a dessert menu for a restaurant used to.  I am hoping to spend more time doing this kind of thing for people.  So if you are in the Philadelphia area and want to eat some cake (or pies or tarts or cookies) – give me a shout.

7 Responses to “Happy Birthday Leo!”

  1. Mish October 25, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    Gorgeous cake! Bet it tasted amazing too. 🙂

    • heavycake October 28, 2011 at 8:52 am #

      Thanks Mish! Just managed to figure out the blogroll feature and added yours. I love your musings on motherhood. Your pictures are pretty wonderful as well.

      • Mish October 28, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

        Thank you so much! I love your recipes – will absolutely be making the butternut squash soup. And definitely adding you to my blogroll also. 😉

  2. Kundini October 28, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    Yum! Shauna you are amazingly talented. I may have to put in an order soon 🙂

    • heavycake October 28, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

      Thanks! Send any orders my way and spread the word!

  3. shannon October 31, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    As you can all see, it looks beautiful – but It was absolutely delicious too!! Thank you Shauna!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ashley’s Baby Shower Cake « Heavy Cake - May 20, 2012

    […] daughter and Leo’s aunt Ashley is expecting a little one this summer.  This cake has a lot of firsts: my first […]

Leave a Reply

