With Love, Philadelphia xxx

11 May

I have lived in Philadelphia for almost 5 years.  I really like it here but it is unlikely that we will stay here forever.  We have dreams of living on other coasts and in other countries before settling down for good.  Wherever we end up, Philadelphia will always hold a very special place in my heart.  It is where my husband and I first lived together, we married while living here, had our child. My husband will have trained as a doctor here, I as a pastry chef.  Philadelphia has taught me many lessons.

One of the most important, one that I will carry with me where ever I go and will pass along to interested parties is how bad ass broccoli rabe is.  Seriously.  I had never had the wonderful vegetable until ordering a pulled pork sandwich at DiNic’s (a sandwich that deserves a post to itself; maybe two).  The rabe was the perfect foil for the rich pork and it’s bitterness played off of the sharp provolone like a dream.

So now on weekly grocery trips, a bunch or two of broccoli rabe goes into the cart.  When we get home I saute it with olive oil, garlic, red pepper flake and a bit of salt.  Sometimes I finish it off with a little red wine vinegar.  The leaves wilt, the florets get a little soft and the stems retain their crunch.  It  is good with anything, or by itself.

Thanks Philly. 

Leave a Reply

